No Warming Up Your Car This Winter and Other Ridiculous Massachusetts Laws
Did you know warming up your car in Massachusetts can be illegal?
This is one of the ridiculous laws on the books here in Massachusetts.
The law, Chapter 90, Section 16A, states that “No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit the unnecessary operation of the engine of a motor vehicle while said vehicle is stopped.”
The main reason for this new law in Massachusetts is to lower air pollution. The state has found that unnecessarily idling your car can lead to significant air pollution.
No idling please!
If you let your car idle unattended for more than five minutes in Massachusetts, you can be subjected to a $100 fine for the first incident.
After being fined once, you can be fined $500 for each subsequent offense. Even though it’s tempting to start your car in the winter, it could cost you.
According to the Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection, there is an exception for idling a car in order to de-ice a windshield.
Other RIDICULOUS LAWS?
According to the website onlyinyourstate.com, there are a TON of nutty laws here in the Baystate. Here are some other ridiculous Massachusetts laws that are still on the books: