Coronavirus Updates

(Photo by Drew Angerer/Getty Images)

Surgeon General, Vice Admiral Jerome Adams is pleading with nine governors who have not issued stay-at-home orders.

The nine states are Arkansas, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Utah and Wyoming.

“The next week is going to be our Pearl Harbor moment. It’s going to be our 9/11 moment. It’s going to be the hardest moment for many Americans in their entire lives,” the Surgeon General said in an interview on Meet the Press.

“And we really need to understand that if we want to flatten that curve and get through to the other side, everyone needs to do their part.”

He asked the governors, if you can’t give us 30 days, give us a week, gives us what you can so that we don’t overwhelm our health care systems over this next week and then let’s reassess at that point.