Nine Inch Nails is part of the 2020 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction class, but when the class was first announced, the only member who was set to be inducted was Trent Reznor. That’s all changed.

Per, the Rock Hall has added six new members for induction under the NIN name: Atticus Ross, Robin Finck, Chris Vrenna, Danny Lohner, Ilan Rubin and Alessandro Cortini. Vrenna and Lohner are the only former members of NIN who will be inducted. Finck, Rubin and Cortini are part of NIN’s touring lineup, while Ross is the only “official member” of the band besides Reznor.

How the Rock Hall came to this decision has not been confirmed, but it certainly only adds the ongoing mystery of why the Rock Hall only inducts certain band members of certain bands. For instance, only the original members of Black Sabbath were inducted in  2006, and only the original members of KISS were inducted in 2014. Meanwhile, 12 members of the Grateful Dead were inducted in 1994.

The same idea applies to backing bands, as noted by Rock Hall news/analysis website Future Rock Legends. Bob Marley, Dion, Paul McCartney, Bob Seger, Prince and Steve Miller have all been inducted but only as solo acts. Even when Bruce Springsteen was inducted in 1999, it was just himself and not with The E Street Band. They would later be inducted as part of the 2014 class.

Due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, the Rock Hall announced in July that the live induction ceremony will be replaced by “an exclusive special honoring the class of 2020 inductees.” The special is set to air on Saturday, November 7 at 8 PM EST on HBO and HBO Max.

13 Popular Musicians Who’ve Won Academy Awards

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well-versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice. #TransRightsAreHumanRights

Sign me up for the ROCK 92.9 email newsletter!

Be the first to know about rock news, upcoming shows, plus exclusive prizes, giveaways, and more!

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.